MS 250 - $349.95 DSRP

MS 250 ChainsawMS 250 ChainsawMS 250 Chainsaw
Distributor Suggested Retail Price
18 in. Bar

DSRP: $349.95


Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A chainsaw designed for firewood cutting – with a great power-to-weight ratio.

When you rely on firewood to keep your home warm and cozy, you need a good chainsaw to build a solid woodpile. With an exceptional power-to-weight ratio, the STIHL MS 250 is up to the task. It is easy to operate and combines great features to take care of clearing jobs as well as cut through small limbs and trees. For many years, the MS 250 has been a model of efficiency and reliability, check it ...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
MS 250 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 45.4 cc (2.77 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 2.2 kW (3.0 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 4.6 kg (10.1 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 470 cc (15.9 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 200 cc (6.8 oz.)
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges) 40 to 45 cm (16" to 18")
STIHL recommends #3634 (26 RM3 68) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 18" 3005 008 4717 STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Side-Access Chain Tensioner
    The side-access chain tensioner makes it much more convenient for the user to adjust the saw chain with a bar wrench as opposed to the typical location of the guide bar adjustment screw.
  • Zoom
    Toolless fuel and oil caps with retainers
    Simply lift the lever and twist the caps to remove or tighten. There‘s no need to use a tool to tighten or loosen.
  • Zoom
    Winter/Summer Shutter
    The Winter/Summer Shutter allows the carburetor to operate at optimum temperature year-round and helps to prevent carburetor icing when working below 50°F (10°C).
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 250 is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 691.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Saw works great starts every time, very to run east to maintain, Light weight. It has great balance.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pro results for occasional use I wore out a 90’s woodboss and got this to replace it. If you’re doing anything other than light trimming or cutting wood less than 6” you need a real saw to do it safely and effectively. In my opinion, this is the entry level into stihl’s real saws. It is a huge value for the money. Every time I pick it up it starts, runs and performs perfectly. I cheap out on some tools but would not risk my safety by using a cheap chainsaw.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect git Really nice, and good power. I only use their can oil gas mix, but just complete the correct starting steps, or you will flood it!That’s the only issue I have with it! She is finicky starting, but once she is started, she kicks butt!
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 250 performs great I have used a few chainsaws and this one maintains it's power unlike others i have used. I will see how it does in a few years but compared to the others it has worked great and i have lots of trees to cut down still
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw I have used this saw for 7 years now, probably for over 500 days of continued use. I have had to do minor upkeep’s on it such as a new muffler, drive sprocket and recoil. Keeping the chain sharp has been the biggest asset by purchasing a power grinder. We liked it so much that we purchased a second one to have as a backup when we drive to the woods to work on firewood.
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saw, reasonable price! I bought the MS250 for some trees I needed to cut down. The first was a 50 year old Cherry tree. It was like cutting through butter. It cut through the 15" trunk with ease and made short work out of a 40' tall tree.I love it!
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw ever. This is the best chainsaw that I have ever owned. Perfect power to weight ratio.
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good saw Bought the MS 250 on sale. I wish I would have purchased a saw with a longer bar and larger motor. It is not the MS 250 fault as I did not expect to be falling 20 to 25 inch dia trees. The MS 250 does the job though so no complaints. The only problem I have had is the cap for the bar oil can be a problem to get closed. You think its closed till your wearing the oil on your pants and the chain is smoking. I have had the saw for less than a year and have cut 15 to 20 cords with out any problems. With a sharp chain it cuts awesome, but still wish I would have gone with a longer bar and more power. Once again it's not the 250 fault as it has been a work horse!
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Third carborator On my third carburetor with in 4 years of light home use.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unreliable. Purchased this saw several years ago. Has never ran right. Had it back to selling dealer when still under warranty and finally gt them to replace carb. Ran better but not correctly. Took to another dealer and they have no idea either. Now out of warranty. Has had no more than a dozen tanks of gas through it. Second time I used it the weak handle broke, repaired that and the handle constantly slips off the retainer bushings. Poor design. No the running problem is not from old or ethanol gas. Biggest problem is our local dealers don't have enough knowledge of the product to fix it and it's a constant issue. I should have bought a Husky.
Date published: 2018-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw This saw is ideal for home owners, land owners, and even some professionals. It is very versatile and can handle almost any wood that you throw at it. It is great for felling, bucking and pruning trees. Stihl provides quality in all of their products, this chainsaw is no exception. The light weight of this saw decreases user fatigue and allows you to saw for longer. By decreasing fatigue it will allow you to saw safer as well. This saw is also extremely reliable. You will be able to run it all day without any issues. I will typically run this saw 8 hours at a time and never have any problems. This speaks for the longevity and consistency that Stihl harnesses in their chainsaws. Stihl also understands that chainsaws are not meant to be babied. Because of this, the products that they make are built to last, and stand up to abusive forestry work. The only issue that I have with the quality of this saw is the chain catch. It is not made of metal like a lot of the bigger saws, it is simply an extension of the sprocket cover. While this is not ideal, after throwing a chain it still did its job of catching it. Some make the mistake of not choosing Stihl because of the price. The price of this saw is more than most saws of its size. Although other saws of this size typically do not have the power that this one does. You will be more than happy with this saws ability to cut wood. The combination of quality, reliability, and weight, make this and incredible saw. You will be able to use it in a variety of different situations. I would recommend this saw to anyone looking to fell small to medium sized trees, cut up firewood, or prune trees in their yard.
Date published: 2018-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and True Stihl power! Great power, lightweight, easy to start, and cuts like butter! My local Stihl dealer recommended this saw to me and I'm so glad I took their advice. The MS 250 starts easy if you follow the starting instructions. I've heard of people having problems starting it but I haven't had any problems and I've cleared off almost an acre of heavily wooded land with this saw with ease. Exactly what I was looking for in a strong chainsaw. Perfect for cutting down large trees for firewood too! Highly recommend this saw to everyone.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great first saw! This is my first real chainsaw. Have flight with cheaper brands before and vowed to never again. This saw has done everything I've asked it to. And I'm pretty hard on it, cleaning up brush around the homestead.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good weekend saw Good saw for the weekend wood cutter. Has descent power, easy to start, runs great and is easy to maintain.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good firewood and more saw We bought this saw on sale and it has not disappointed us yet. Good power, good price and started very easy every time. I wish I has bought one sooner!
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I was wanting Very good product. Starting is easy and reliable. Power is just fine for my application also.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! I bought the MS250 a couple months ago, and since have used it a number of times. Always starts within the first 5 pulls. Great power, lightweight, and easy to work on. Just don't forget to check your chain tension after first couple uses!!
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hard to start Easy to flood making it almost impossible to start. After 30 minutes trying to start it, was about to take it back to store when it started. Very unlike Stihl.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought about 6 months ago I have been cutting on 40 acres that has been logged. I bought this saw with an 18" bar and it is a good size bar for the engine. I'm cutting logs up to about 24" and have had no problems at all! It starts like a typical Stihl saw, just like all the other models I have used for the past 30 years. So far I've cut about 20 pick-up loads of wood with no problems.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Chainsaw Perfect Size I love my MS250 Farmboss. It's the perfect size and weight. Enough power to handle a 14" diameter oak tree. Light weight and well balanced
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor chail oiler Had return saw twice forlow chain oiling the only way to use it is with winter bar oil and oil adjustments next saw will be a jonsered,
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saw is excellent only a week old to me purchased new but oil cap is leaking gonna return for them to resolve this issue but very nice chainsaw Oil cap leaking this is my only issue but I’m sure they will fix this issue very pleased it’s cut everything I’ve laid it into hasn’t stalled or caused me any grief in anyway besides a new cap that’s an easy fix Stihl can’t be beat
Date published: 2018-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihlcuttin I bought the 250 to clear property, and cut firewood. It’s easy to start, It cuts quick and at 10lbs I can work with it all day. if you have property or ranch and need a reliable saw that has plenty of power and won't break your back, this saw is definitly one to consider. My only small gripe is I wish it had felling lines on it.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than my expectations Had my saw for a year now. Just needed a medium duty saw and the 250 did far more than that. I had several huge ash trees felled by professionals and then I did the clean up and cut the logs. More than adequate power to cut through 20" plus diameter logs. Taking my time and letting the saw work I only had to touch sharpen a few times. I knew Stihl had a good reputation and I'm glad I trusted that information.You can't go wrong.
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw, powerful and lightweight, starts easily even in cold weather and fast cutting even on oak. I own 4 pro saws in the 60 to 70 cc class that are great powerful reliable saws but they all weight 13 to 15 pounds. It gets very tiring running that large a saw when the majority of the cutting could be done with a smaller lighter saw. I recently bought the Stihl MS 250 to fill that role in my cutting demands. I am very happy with this new saw. It is easy to start even in cold weather, two pulls at full choke one at half choke and its running. Restarts with no choking at all. Love this saw, cuts very fast even in oak, powerful and lightweight. Would highly recommend this saw for anyone needing a dependable pro grade saw.
Date published: 2018-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has real power for the power to weight ratio. I worked FEMA cleanup for the IRMA hurricane, worked dusk till dawn and pushed the limits on our equipment. Had 1 Ryobi, 2 Stihl MS170's, 1 MS270 and a blown up Poulan Pro.Bottom line we got our work done. Gained a lot of respect for the 170's, they held up like any pro saw, Installed an Oregon Powermate on both 170's. Used 16" with .050 bar with VG series chains that lasted much longer. Then I bought the MS250 and installed an 20" Bar and 81 tooth chain with a .325 Powermate 7tooth sprocket. Blew the doors off the MS270 and didn't have the X-tra weight. The MS250 has got some real power without the weight and was easy to start and easy on your muscles and a pleasure to use. Everyone would fight for the 250. I strongly recommend the 250, It's really a pro Hot Rod saw.
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect saw for home owners This saw is simple,easy to use,has a great oiler & high quality oil & gas caps. The pull starter can be a little difficult to use but once you get used to it there's no problem.
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start and maintain. I own this saw, a 170 and a 311. They all start quickly and run amazingly well. If you keep the saw clean, run non ethanol fuel(at least 91 oct) and don’t use the saw as a gas can (run saw out of fuel every time) it will start every time without fail. A little knowledge of small 2 stroke engines goes a long way!
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IRAMA This Stihl MS250 worked hours cutting up downed trees after Hurricane IRMA. I have many brands but this chainsaw worked hard and did not let me down.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stihl 18" 250 This is the worse chainsaw I have ever owned. Nine months old, will not start for anything. Requires going to shop every time I want to run it. Works Ok once started.If it sits for a few weeks, it wont start!!! Recommend for trash heap.Would love to get part of my $$$ returned!!The number of start pulls required (which still won't start it) is destroying my right shoulder. I follow start directions in manual to no avail.No more Stihl chainsaws for me!!!
Date published: 2018-01-05
  • y_2018, m_3, d_18, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_691
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms250, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl